Albany Technical College

  
  



Tutorial Video's  

Overview / FAQ

To help you find your question, look for the category and then your question. 

Contents of FAQ’s:

  1. Course requirements
  2. Driving
  3. General info (including Joshua’s Law)
  4. New student tips
  5. Late payments
  6. System and program issues (Fix-its, navigational, etc.)

 

1.  COURSE REQUIREMENTS
What is required to receive a certificate?

Answer:
In order to be eligible to take the final, each student must:

If I finish all the tests do I still have to have 30 hours?
Answer:
Yes! As stated in the Agreement and according to DDS requirements, you must log at least 30 hours in this program, as well as complete all the requirements in order to receive a certificate. If you finish early, our suggestion will be for you to return and read or work on bringing your workbook scores up in order to log the time.

How does the “course timer” work?
Answer:
The course timer does not calculate all the time you spend in the course textbook, workbook, quizzes and tests. It will time every page up to a normal reading time and then stop. Once you turn the page, it starts again. This is to keep students from turning on the computer and walking away. **NO EXCEPTIONS**

 

2.  DRIVING
Where can I get the driving log?

Answer:
You can pick one of these up at the licensing offices, it's in the
Georgia 40-hour parent guide.
Print one from the DDS website (links are provided from our site below and in the program.)
Georgia 40-hour parent guide

http://www.dds.ga.gov/formsandmanuals


Do I have to go to a driving school to get any driving?
Answer:
The driving requirement may be satisfied by driving 6 hours with a professional teacher, or you and your parent completing the “Parent-Teen Driving Guide.”.


Does this program allow me to get an insurance discount?
Answer: Not by itself! You’ll need to show a certificate from this course and one for driving 6 hours with a licensed driving school in Georgia. We highly recommend you discuss this with your agent. We have found that although it is not required at the state level, there have been many local agents that recognize our virtual program due its comprehensive curriculum. 

 

3.  General info
What are the “Joshua’s Law” requirements?

Answer:
See all the new requirements on the Georgia Dept. of Driver Services website
( http://www.dds.ga.gov).
You must complete an approved 30-hour DE course if you want a license before your 17th birthday.


Where can I find other Georgia requirements?
Answer:
Click on the Georgia Department of Driver Services website at:
http://www.dds.ga.gov. These requirements are also discussed on p. 10 of Module 1 in your textbook.


Is this program licensed by the state of Georgia for teen licensing for Joshua’s Law?
Answer:
YES! Costech Training School is a licensed limited driver training school in the state of Georgia. This method of providing driver education was created especially to satisfy this new legislation.

 

4. New students
What are some tips and suggestions for new students?
     

 

5.  Payment (late Payments)
I did not pay during the registration process, can I go back now and do this, and how do I do this?
Answer:
Go to the login page, click on the Payment button, enter your student ID, and choose your method of payment Credit Card or Check/Money Order. (The fastest way is by credit card.) If you are paying by check or money order, send to the address on the page.

6.  Program issues (including navigational, saving. Fixits)
     When I login, I get the message, “ACCESS DENIED.” What is happening and how do I fix it?
     The most common reasons could be firewall restrictions or cookie issues. Here are a few fixits that you can try. You might want to cut/paste them in Word and print them out.

To adjust cookies in Internet Explorer:


To delete or remove cookies in Internet Explorer:


Firewall adjustments: